Training‎ > ‎

2010 school

With the advent of large and multi-telescope arrays in the past years, interferometry has reached a new stage. Interferometric facilities are becoming more and more open to non-specialist astronomers, and the Very Large Telescope Interferometer (VLTI) is a good example as the interferometric facility is fully open.

However the scientific outcome will be at the same level as the VLTI performance only if astronomers get prepared to interferometric observations and to the use of interferometric data and if the specialists in interferometry transmit their knowledge to the European astronomical community. With this objective in mind, we organized a school to train astronomers to the use of the VLTI (and other facilities) current generation of instruments.

The next VLTI training school was held in the Centre IGESA, Porquerolles Island, Côte d’Azur, France in 17th-28th April 2010.

Any student wishing to deepen his(her) knowledge on optical interferometry was welcome to attend the school. The School was recognized as a European Erasmus Intensive Program (I.P. http://ec.europa.eu/education/erasmus/doc900_en.htm). This means that the students from the University partners of the program recognized the school as part of their studies, and that special funding was available for them. The University partners are listed below, and their number should increase in the following years.

During the school, a twiki web page was developed. In particular, you can find the content of the lectures This web page is temporarily available here before being incorporated in this website:
http://ipag.osug.fr/twiki/bin/view/Jmmc/VltiSchool2010/WebHome 

More info on the Location and the evaluation of the lodging costs here.
For the students who do not belong to any University partners, please note the Fizeau exchange visitors program.


SOC:
Olivier Chesneau, Univ. Nice
Gilles Duvert, Univ. Grenoble
Paolo Garcia, Univ. Porto
Joseph Hron, Univ. Vienna
Pierre Kervella, Univ. Paris
Andrzej Niedzielski, Univ. Torun
Andreas Quirrenbach, Univ. Heidelberg
Jean Surdej, Univ. Liège
Isabelle Tallon-Bosc
, Univ. Lyon

LOC:
Olivier Chesneau
Valérie Chéron
Catherine Blanc
Caroline Daire
Jean Arnaud
Farrokh Vakili
 


University partners:

University of Nice, contact person: O. Chesneau, Olvier.Chesneau@oca.eu

University of Torun, contact person: A. Niedzielski, aniedzi@astri.uni.torun.pl

University of Porto, contact person:  P. Garcia, pgarcia@fe.up.pt

University of Liège, contact person:  J. Surdej, surdej@astro.ulg.ac.be

University of Heidelberg, contact person:  A. Quirrenbach, a.quirrenbach@lsw.uni-heidelberg.de

University of Grenoble 1, contact person:  G. Duvert, Gilles.Duvert@obs.ujf-grenoble.fr

University of Lyon 1, contact person: I. Tallon-Bosc,  bosc@obs.univ-lyon1.fr

University of Wien, contact person: J. Hron, hron@astro.univie.ac.at

University of Paris 7,  contact person: P. Kervella, pierre.kervella@obspm.fr